16.2 History of mutual funds in India

Hanumant Dhokle

Mutual funds

The mutual fund industry can be broadly put into four phases according to the development of the sector.

First Phase - 1964-87

1963 Establishment of Unit Trust of India (UTI) was established on 1963 by an Act of Parliament. It was set up by the Reserve Bank of India.
1964 Unit Scheme 1964 launched.

Second Phase - 1987-1993 (Entry of Public Sector Funds)

1987 Entry of non-UTI, public sector mutual funds. SBI Mutual Fund was the first followed by Canbank Mutual Fund (Dec 87).

Third Phase - 1993-2003 (Entry of Private Sector Funds)

1993 Entry of private sector funds. First mutual fund regulations came into being. The erstwhile Kothari Pioneer (now merged with Franklin Templeton) was the first private sector mutual fund registered in July.
1996 Substitution of prevalent rules by SEBI (Mutual Funds) Regulations 1996.

Fourth Phase - since February 2003

2003 UTI bifurcated into two separate entities - Specified Undertaking of Unit Trust of India - UTI Mutual Fund, sponsored by RBI, LIC etc.
2010 Around 40 players. Mutual Fund AUM in India has grown to Rs 7,945 bn. by December 2009.
Rate this article:
Comments are only visible to subscribers.

Equity Research


Principal Officer: Mr. Shashikant Singh,
Email: principalofficer@dsij.in
Tel: (+91)-20-66663800

Compliance Officer: Mr. Rajesh Padode
Email: complianceofficer@dsij.in
Tel: (+91)-20-66663800

Grievance Officer: Mr. Rajesh Padode
Email: service@dsij.in
Tel: (+91)-20-66663800

Corresponding SEBI regional/local office address- SEBI Bhavan BKC, Plot No.C4-A, 'G' Block, Bandra-Kurla Complex, Bandra (East), Mumbai - 400051, Maharashtra.
Tel: +91-22-26449000 / 40459000 | Fax : +91-22-26449019-22 / 40459019-22 | E-mail : sebi@sebi.gov.in | Toll Free Investor Helpline: 1800 22 7575 | SEBI SCORES | SMARTODR